Job applications

jobs.ch
Experience
Tips
News
Employer
Competition


 

Application dossier

A great deal of attention needs to be paid to the application dossier, for it reveals more about the applicant than he or she may think. Therefore the same applies here: the first impression is crucial.

Despite advancing digitalisation, the traditional application dossier remains standard. It includes:

Résumé or CV

The core of every application is the résumé or the curriculum vitae, abbreviated to CV. NB: "Ordinary mortals" should use the title "Résumé", "Curriculum Vitae" should strictly only be used by graduates and academics.

The résumé should be persuasive right from the start, otherwise the HR director will not read on any further. In this case, even a presentation folder designed with a great deal of effort is of no use at all. The résumé should be a maximum of three pages long.

Important: there is no universally valid format for the design of the résumé. It is better if it matches the relevant job profile. (see Examples/Templates).

A résumé lists in tabular or in bullet-point form all the factual information about a candidate: personal details, schooling, further education and professional training, career stages and professional experience, language and computer skills, and referees. Under certain circumstances secondary activities and hobbies can be mentioned, so long as they fit the job specification. Going to the disco and watching TV only makes the HR director yawn, however activities in clubs/societies or political commitment may be of interest. Always begin with the most recent information; under the heading "Schooling", your primary school comes last. The entry date is also detailed, although the remark "By agreement" is usually used here.

More and more frequently, a short section is added to the résumé, in which the candidate describes his or her personal and professional motivation, and indicates particular skills. If you give this section the auspicious title "Other things you should know about me", you make the HR director curious about what you have to say about yourself.

The HR director will perform a sequence and item analysis of your résumé. He performs the sequence analysis to identify possible gaps in your biography. "Blanks" and gaps are not a good sign. If you have been a student for twice as long as your peers, if there is a "gap" between completing your apprenticeship and your first job, then you should document this period sensibly, for example with a period abroad or further education. On the other hand, the HR director will use the item analysis to chart your career path: linear with a central thread; or erratic with no great coherence.

Photograph

This point cannot be stressed enough: a picture says more than 1000 words. In the application it is the element that is most strongly emotive and also shows how you would represent your potential employer. Have a professional picture taken by a specialist portrait photographer. He or she can also advise on clothing, hairstyle, how to look at the camera, the way you hold your head and all other minute details which have to be considered. Passport photos from a machine have no place in an application, and private snaps from your last beach holiday are totally inappropriate.

Employment references

For the HR director, employment references are one of many bases for making decisions. They give him an impression of your performance and conduct in previous employment and also verify that the details in your résumé are not pure fiction. It is therefore important that you enclose all employment references and are thus able to demonstrate that your career has no gaps. Do not enclose originals, only copies!

Degrees/Diplomas/Certificates

Once again, only send copies. Only include with your application those diplomas and certificates which are relevant to your new job – if possible they should less than ten years old. If a 55-year-old includes his degree certificate and his secondary education certificate, this would seem odd. The certificate for your highest level of education should however always be included.

Other documents

There are applications where the usual documents do not suffice. In this case, a sample of your handwriting or a specialist driving licence is explicitly required, but these other documents could also include work samples (e.g. in professions where writing copy is important).

Referees

As soon as your application is short-listed, many HR directors will contact any one of your previous employers to find out whether you were really as good as you said you were in your application. As a rule, it is sufficient if you give three referees. An unwritten rule requires that the HR director may only contact those people that you have listed in your list of referees; and that you contact these people beforehand to see if they are willing to act as referees. You should also find out from whom and when they are likely to receive such a request. Important: the referees may only provide information about your workplace performance and conduct; anything else is unprofessional. Employers and also former colleagues may act as referees; for graduates, possibly their professor; for club members, possibly the president or for sportspeople, their coach may possibly act as a referee.

Application letters, Motivation letters, Covering letters

Often these open the door. A persuasively written covering letter that matches the job, which you submit with your documents, in many cases determines whether your dossier will be examined more closely at all. Short, concise letters have more chance than novels; and a 4-section structure is ideal. Describe why you are interested in the position, what qualifications and what motivation you bring to the job, and give a reason why you wish to change jobs. Your willingness to attend an interview must also be stated. If you have previously called the HR department, refer to that conversation by mentioning the date and the name of your contact. Bear in mind that your written style and tone already give an indication of your professionalism and your personality. With banal clichés and commonplace phrases such as: "I refer to your job advertisement", you’re application is sure to land on the rejection pile.

Sample introduction:

In the course of my long career as (...) I have become familiar with the excellent reputation of your company and of your product range. I am all the more delighted to be able to offer you my services as (...). In respect of the advertised position of ... I have the qualifications and experience that you are looking for. Thus I have.../I am...

Sample additional qualifications:

In addition to first-rate SAP/ABAP4 knowledge, I also have a very broad range of experience in business processes and all associated administrative responsibilities, given my previous positions as Head of IT and Organisational Programmer. For this reason, I am also in a position to provide you and your clients with appropriate added value in the area of general IT-related consultancy assignments. In the course of my many international project assignments, I have also coordinated teams of up to 50 employees, and have developed and successfully implemented many spontaneous, innovative and very effective solutions.

Sample ending:

Should I be invited to an interview, I would be delighted to attend.

Application folder

Should you choose a neutral or an elaborate design for your application folder? Even from its external appearance you can differentiate your application from those of your competitors. Yet however you design the folder, it should match the job profile and emphasise your personality. However, you should avoid being too original, since ultimately it is the content that matters. Creative professions are an exception, where the folder is already treated as a first sample of one's work. Although all applications have that central thread from the first to the last page in common: a glittering cover with ultra-conservative content is just absurd. You should also avoid using plastic folders. Tip: ask for some advice at your local stationery store.

Is your application ready? A final check-through is important at this stage:

  1. Check whether the documents are complete, including copies
  2. Proof read documents several times for errors
  3. The address - including the name of the HR executive - must be written correctly and uniformly on every document
  4. Choose one single font Although this can vary in size, your standard font should ideally be 12 point
  5. Always write years and months in the same manner; example: 10/2007
  6. Keep the way you write names uniform; example: Jürg P. Huber or Jürg Peter Huber
  7. Use a stiff envelope and pay enough postage on it

Examples/Templates

European sample résumé: europass.cedefop.europa.eu
Model résumés as PDFs: karriere.ch

Job.ADN: Pour les meilleurs jobs.   Commencer
 
 

Candidature

jobs.ch
Expériences
Conseils
Nouveautés
Marque
Concours










 

Dossier de candidature

Il faut prêter une grande attention au dossier de candidature car il en dit plus sur le candidat que ce que ce dernier pourrait croire. C'est pourquoi la première impression est importante là aussi.

Malgré la numérisation croissante, le dossier de candidature traditionnel est toujours et encore de mise. Il contient:

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Le curriculum vitae ou CV constitue le cœur de toute candidature. Attention: pour le "commun des mortels", il vaut mieux utiliser le terme de CV, curriculum vitae étant réservé aux universitaires.

Le CV doit être convaincant dès le début, sinon le responsable du personnel ne le lira pas jusqu'au bout, même si le dossier de candidature est présenté de façon soignée. Le CV ne doit pas dépasser trois pages.

Important: il n'existe pas de présentation standard du CV. Il est conseillé de l'adapter à chaque profil d'exigences (voir les exemples/modèles).

Un CV énumère sous forme d'un tableau ou de mots-clés toutes les informations concrètes concernant le candidat: données personnelles, formation scolaire, professionnelle, études, étapes de la vie professionnelle et expériences professionnelles, compétences linguistiques et informatiques, références. Vous pouvez également mentionner vos activités extraprofessionnelles et vos loisirs, si ceux-ci s'accordent bien avec le poste. Les sorties en discothèque et la télévision font bâiller le recruteur. En revanche, il pourrait être intéressé par d'éventuelles activités au sein d'une association ou par un engagement politique. Commencez toujours par les dates les plus récentes. Pour la formation scolaire, mentionnez l'école primaire en dernier. La date d'entrée doit également être précisée. Toutefois, il faut ici indiquer le plus souvent "à convenir".

Il arrive de plus en plus souvent que le CV soit complété par une petite rubrique dans laquelle le candidat décrit sa motivation personnelle et professionnelle et fait référence à d'autres capacités particulières. Si vous donnez à ce paragraphe le titre prometteur de "Ce que vous devriez encore savoir sur moi", vous éveillerez la curiosité du responsable du personnel, qui se demandera ce que vous avez encore à ajouter.

e responsable du personnel effectuera une analyse chronologique et une analyse des positions de votre CV. L'analyse chronologique sert à repérer d'éventuelles lacunes dans votre biographie. Ces "taches blanches" ne présagent rien de bon. Si vos études ont duré deux fois plus longtemps que celles des autres étudiants, si vous avez une lacune entre la fin de votre formation et votre première activité professionnelle, vous devrez alors documenter cette faille de façon judicieuse, par exemple en mentionnant un séjour à l'étranger ou une formation continue. L'analyse des positions sert quant à elle à découvrir comment s'est déroulée votre vie professionnelle (avancement, arrêt, changement d'orientation). Le recruteur désire savoir si vous avez suivi une voie rectiligne ou si votre carrière est changeante et sans grande cohérence.

Photo

On ne le répétera jamais assez: une image vaut plus que mille mots. La photo est l'élément le plus fort de la candidature, émotionnellement parlant. Elle montre aussi la façon dont vous voulez représenter votre futur employeur. Offrez-vous une photo professionnelle faite chez un photographe spécialisé dans les portraits. Il vous conseillera sur votre tenue vestimentaire, votre coiffure, le regard face à la caméra et sur tous les petits détails auxquels il faut penser. Les photos d'identité faites dans une cabine photo n'ont rien à faire sur une candidature, vos photos privées datant de vos dernières vacances sur la plage, encore moins.

Certificats de travail

Pour le responsable du personnel, les certificats de travail font partie des documents décisifs. Ils lui donnent l'impression d'entrevoir votre capacité et votre comportement dans vos activités professionnelles antérieures. Ils lui prouvent également que les données indiquées sur votre CV reposent bien sur des faits réels. C'est pour cela qu'il est important de joindre tous vos certificats à votre candidature, afin de pouvoir prouver vos activités antérieures sans lacunes. Ne joignez pas de documents originaux, seulement des copies!

Diplômes/justificatifs

Ici aussi, n'envoyez que des copies. Ne joignez à votre candidature que les diplômes et certificats qui sont pertinents pour votre nouveau travail. Si possible, ils doivent dater au maximum de dix ans. Si un homme de 55 ans joint à sa candidature son diplôme de baccalauréat en plus de son diplôme, ce sera assez étrange. Toutefois, il convient de toujours joindre le diplôme le plus élevé.

Autres documents

Pour certaines candidatures, les documents habituels ne suffisent pas. C'est le cas lorsque l'on demande explicitement un échantillon d'écriture manuscrite ou un permis de conduire spécial. On peut aussi demander des démonstrations (par exemple pour les professions dactylographiques).

Références

Lorsque votre candidature a franchi avec succès les premières étapes, de nombreux responsables du personnel se renseignent auprès de vos anciens employeurs pour savoir si vous étiez vraiment aussi excellent que ce que vous le prétendez dans votre offre. Il suffit en général d'indiquer trois personnes de référence. Une "loi tacite" veut que le responsable du personnel ne contacte que les personnes figurant dans la liste de vos références. Vous devez au préalable demander à ces personnes si elles sont prêtes à remettre une référence. Informez-les également des personnes qui effectueront la demande et du moment où cela se fera. Important: les personnes référencées ne doivent donner d'information que sur vos capacités et votre comportement. Tout le reste n'est pas professionnel. A côté des employeurs, les collègues peuvent aussi servir de référence. Les jeunes diplômés peuvent donner le nom de leur professeur, les membres d'associations celui de leur président et les sportifs celui de leur entraîneur.

Lettre de candidature, lettre de motivation, lettre d'accompagnement

Cette lettre ouvre bien des portes. Joignez à votre dossier une lettre de motivation rédigée de manière convaincante et adaptée à l'emploi recherché. Ce facteur est souvent décisif et, ainsi, votre dossier sera peut-être regardé de plus près. Des lettres brèves et concises ont plus de chance d'être regardées que des romans. L'organisation optimale d'une lettre de motivation comporte quatre paragraphes. Décrivez la raison pour laquelle vous vous intéressez à ce poste, quelles qualifications et motivations vous apporterez pour cet emploi et donnez une raison pour laquelle vous souhaitez changer d'emploi. Votre lettre doit également mentionner votre disponibilité pour un entretien personnel. Si vous avez au préalable téléphoné avec le service du personnel, mentionnez-le dans votre lettre et indiquez la date de la communication et le nom de votre interlocuteur. Rappelez-vous que le style d'écriture et le ton de votre lettre de motivation donnent déjà un aperçu de votre professionnalisme et de votre personnalité. Si vous commencez votre lettre par des formules et des phrases-types telles que: "en référence à votre annonce", vous pouvez être sûr que votre lettre ne sera pas retenue.

Modèle d'introduction:

De par mon travail de plusieurs années en tant que(...), je connais bien l’excellente réputation de votre entreprise et de votre gamme de produits. Je me réjouis d’autant plus de vous offrir ma collaboration en tant que(...). J’ai pour le poste de ... à pourvoir les qualifications et l’expérience requises. En effet j’ai.../je suis...

Modèle qualifications supplémentaires:

En plus d’excellentes connaissances en SAP/ABAP4, j’apporte grâce à mes postes précédents en tant que chef de l'informatique et programmateur une expérience large et variée en ce qui concerne le déroulement du travail dans une entreprise et toutes les tâches administratives s'y rapportant. Je suis donc en mesure de vous proposer ainsi qu’à vos clients une plus-value correspondante, également pour tout ce qui concerne les conseils en technologies de l’information. Lors de mes nombreux projets internationaux, j’ai coordonné jusqu’à 20 employés et développé beaucoup de solutions spontanées, innovantes et efficaces et les ai mises en place avec succès.

Modèle de conclusion:

En me réjouissant de votre convocation à un entretien, je vous prie de croire, Monsieur, à l’assurance de ma respectueuse considération

Dossier de candidature

Un dossier de candidature plutôt neutre ou plutôt de grande envergure? Votre candidature peut se différencier des autres de par sa présentation. Mais vous devez présenter le dossier de façon à ce qu'il concorde avec le profil de l'emploi et souligne votre personnalité. Evitez toutefois le trop-plein d'originalité, car c'est tout de même le contenu qui importe. Une exception: les métiers créatifs, pour lesquels le dossier constitue déjà une première démonstration du travail. Mais toutes les candidatures ont un point commun: le fil rouge qui doit mener de la première à la dernière page. Les enveloppes brillantes contenant une candidature ultraconservatrice viennent comme un cheveu sur la soupe. Vous devriez aussi éviter les pochettes en plastique. Un conseil: laissez-vous conseiller dans votre papeterie.

Votre candidature est terminée? Il est important d'y jeter un dernier coup d'œil:

  1. vérifier si les documents sont au complet, y compris les copies
  2. relire plusieurs fois les documents et repérer les fautes éventuelles
  3. l'adresse et le nom du responsable du personnel doivent être écrits dans leur intégralité et orthographiés correctement sur tous les documents
  4. choisir une police unique, dont la taille peut varier. Police de base: 12 points dans l'idéal.
  5. garder toujours les mêmes chiffres pour les mois et les années, par exemple: 10/2007
  6. garder le même style d'écriture pour les noms, par exemple: Jürg P. Huber ou Jürg Peter Huber
  7. utiliser une enveloppe solide et l'affranchir suffisamment

Exemples/modèles

Modèle de CV européen: europass.cedefop.europa.eu
Modèles de CV au format PDF karriere.ch