Job applications

jobs.ch
Experience
Tips
News
Employer
Competition


 

Speculative applications

As far as speculative applications are concerned, you are often the only person in the running. With the right intuition, luck with timing, and by showing genuine interest; you have every chance of landing a job with your preferred employer.

You know exactly what you have to offer, however throughout the job market there are no suitable jobs on offer. If you have an exact idea of the company capacity you want to work in, why not try a speculative or unsolicited application. The advantages: you are just about the only person in the running, you show that you are a self-starter and are able to document a show of genuine interest in the company - which will often feel flattered by this approach. However, the prerequisite is that you research the company thoroughly beforehand, i.e. study the website thoroughly to check if it is the right place for you. If you are already familiar with the company and know to whom you need to address your application, so much the better. Avoid submitting a covering letter beginning with the universal «Dear Sirs». A telephone call in advance can at least get your foot in the door.

We recommend you send only a CV with a speculative application, and don't forget to indicate that you will submit further documentation at a later stage upon request.

In addition, you should bear the following points in mind:

  1. Submit your application if possible 6 weeks before the end of a quarter. This is a good time because many more resignations are received then.
  2. Never submit an application between Christmas and New Year or during long holiday periods.
  3. Only send a short letter giving the reason for your application, and enclose your CV and photograph.
  4. Adapt your application to the company, and match your qualifications profile to the job that you are looking for. Example: I am applying to you because I gather from your website (your company literature / your company profile or similar) that you adopt a forward-looking strategy in Research (HR Development, Sales, Purchasing, Administration etc.), which would allow me to make a valuable contribution using my skills and knowledge.

Examples/Templates

Everything you need to know about producing an application dossier
Sample application letters following a resignation

Candidature

jobs.ch
Expériences
Conseils
Nouveautés
Marque
Concours


 

Candidature spontanée

Dans le cas de la candidature spontanée, le postulant est souvent la seule personne en course. Si vous avez du flair, que vous tombez au bon moment et que vous montrez que vous etes réellement intéressé, vous pouvez obtenir un poste au sein de l'entreprise de votre choix sans trop de difficultés.

Vous savez exactement ce que vous avez à offrir aux entreprises, mais le marché de l'emploi ne mentionne aucune offre correspondant au poste que vous recherchez. Si vous avez une idée précise de l'entreprise et de la fonction que vous souhaitez occuper, tentez votre chance en envoyant une candidature spontanée. Avantages: vous êtes alors la seule personne à postuler, vous faites preuve de motivation et d'initiative et montrez un intérê;t réel vis-à-vis de l'entreprise, qui se sent alors souvent flattée. Toutefois, vous devez vous renseigner en détail sur l'entreprise, c'est-à-dire bien étudier la page d'accueil et ainsi voir s'il agit bien de l'endroit approprié. Si vous connaissez déjà l'entreprise et que vous savez à qui vous devez adresser votre candidature, tant mieux pour vous. Evitez les lettres de motivation commen ant par "Mesdames, Messieurs", formule trop générale. Une conversation téléphonique préalable peut ouvrir une première porte.

Dans le cas d'une candidature spontanée, il est conseillé de ne joindre d'abord qu'un CV. Vous ne devez pas oublier de préciser que vous ferez volontiers parvenir d'autres documents.

De plus, vous devez tenir compte des facteurs suivants:

  1. Si possible, envoyez votre candidature six semaines avant la fin d'un trimestre. C'est la bonne période, car c'est là que le nombre de licenciements est le plus élevé.
  2. N'envoyez jamais de candidature entre No‘l et le Nouvel An ni pendant les longues périodes de congé.
  3. Envoyez seulement une courte lettre mentionnant la raison pour laquelle vous postulez. Joignez-y un CV avec votre photo.
  4. Adaptez votre lettre de motivation à l'entreprise et adaptez également votre profil de qualification au poste pour lequel vous postulez. Exemple: Je vous envoie cette demande car ayant consulté votre présentation Internet (documentation, profil de votre entreprise, etc.), j'en déduis que vous adoptez une attitude orientée vers l'avenir dans le domaine de la recherche (développement du personnel, vente, achat, gestion etc.), attitude que je pourrais enrichir de mes capacités et connaissances.

Exemples/modèles

Toutes les informations nécessaires à l'élaboration d'un dossier de candidature
Exemple de lettre de motivation après un licenciement